The International Organization of Multiple Sclerosis Nurses (IOMSN) is proud to announce ten recipients of its Nightingale Award for 2020, in celebration of the first International Year of the Nurse and Midwife. The award, in conjunction with this international event, recognizes significant accomplishments in MS nursing.

The awards, supported by EMD Serono (known as Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany, outside of North America) were granted to the following individuals due to their commitment to the MS community: 

Lisa Duffy
Northeastern University / Boston Children's Hospital
(Boston, MA) 

Mary Filipi
MS Forward Gym
(Omaha, NE)

Yolanda Harris
UAB School of Nursing / Center for Pediatric Onset Demyelinating Disease
(Birmingham, AL)

Michelle Keating
MS Bright Spots of Hope
(Bridgeton, MO)

George Mekeel
Sutter Health Neurology Clinic / Comprehensive MS Care Center
(Berkeley, CA)

Erika Mitchell
Medstar Georgetown University Hospital
(Washington, DC)

Mindy Robert
Ogden Clinic
(Ogden, UT)

Sara Schaefer
UCHealth Neurology
(Fort Collins, CO)

Megan Weigel
First Coast Integrative Medicine
(Jacksonville, FL)

Crystal Wright
UT Southwestern
(Dallas, TX)

The IOMSN is proud to collaborate with EMD Serono on this important honor, which shines light on the profound role that nursing professionals play in the lives of those affected by MS, said June Halper, Chief Executive Officer of the IOMSN.  We’re confident the support of these local programs and research will have a positive impact on the broader MS community.

EMD Serono recognizes the importance of comprehensive care and is pleased to work with the IOMSN in this joint effort to celebrate and empower nursing professionals," said Andrew Paterson, SVP, Head of U.S. and Global MS Franchise, for EMD Serono.MS nurses are a critical source of care for patients and we’re proud to lend our support to nurses who do so much for the MS community.”